Reading a Home Elevator Lift Quote in Saudi Arabia: Eleven Lines, Five Omissions

Reading a Home Elevator Lift Quote in Saudi Arabia: Eleven Lines, Five Omissions

September 27, 2026

On this page (14 sections)
    Saudi Arabia · reading a residential lift quotation for a home elevator lift: the eleven lines, the five omissions and the numbers that are still missing

    Two quotations for the same home elevator lift, three times apart, are not proof that one supplier is expensive. They are proof that the two documents are not measuring the same job.

    A residential lift in Saudi Arabia is quoted in at least three shapes. One supplier sends an equipment price and the words "ex works". Another adds freight and clearance and calls it CIF. A third sends one SAR figure covering "supply and installation" and nothing else. Put the three side by side and the cheapest is often the one with the least inside it.

    This guide is written for the stage before signing: the quotation is already in hand. The price structure itself is covered in home elevator costs, and the choice of drive family in home elevator types and the Saudi home lift guide. What is narrower here is the document in front of you — how to align two or three quotations to one comparable sheet, the eleven lines each should itemise, and the five omissions that return later as change orders.

    Cost breakdown infographic for a residential home lift: price ranges in SAR, an installation cost estimate and annual maintenance, alongside a 480 kg high-capacity cabin
    Cost breakdown published with this guide: Saudi price ranges in SAR for a residential lift, with installation and annual maintenance shown as the layers on top of the equipment. Section 04 turns those layers into eleven lines you can compare between suppliers.

    01 · The short answer: three quotations, three different scopes

    The reason the same lift can be quoted three times apart in Saudi Arabia has little to do with the machine. It has to do with where each supplier draws the boundary of the job: a quotation is a price up to a stated point, and everything past that point is unpriced work.

    Two published Saudi references make the gap visible. Aqar, a Saudi real-estate platform, reports that home elevators in the Kingdom typically start at SAR 40,000 for compact models and can pass SAR 80,000. Star Elevator publishes SAR 60,000–90,000 for a home lift of 300–450 kg over two to four stops, and SAR 75,000–120,000 for a residential lift of 400–630 kg over three to six stops. Both are installed figures; neither states what is excluded.

    Our own published equipment bands — the figures printed on our product pages, per set — run from USD 4,000–10,000 for the hydraulic home models, USD 10,000–20,000 for the 200 kg platform lift and the geared traction model, and USD 20,000–30,000 for the screw-driven range. At the rate checked on 26 September 2026 (SAR 3.75 to the dollar), SAR 60,000 is about USD 16,000 and SAR 90,000 about USD 24,000.

    11
    lines
    The itemised rows a Saudi quotation needs before two of them can be compared. Section 04.
    5
    omissions
    The gaps that come back as variation orders rather than as savings. Section 08.
    3
    shapes
    Equipment only, supply and install, or turnkey with civil works. Section 11 identifies which one you are holding.

    Read the three bands together and a rule of thumb appears, not as a promise but as a checkpoint. Between the factory band and the Saudi installed band there is roughly one more equipment-and-freight layer and one site-and-service layer.

    If a quotation sits below the market band, the missing layer is almost always one of the three in the tiles above. If it sits far above it while claiming the same scope, the extra is usually finish, capacity, speed or a brand licence — all legitimate, and all of which should be visible as separate lines.

    What this page will not do

    It will not tell you what a lift costs in your city, because that depends on your shaft, your access, your importer status and your finish — none of which are in this article. And it will not repeat the price-band table, which lives on the product pages and in the cost guide linked above. Everything below is about the document in your hand.

    02 · Align the vocabulary first: eight words that change the total

    Before any comparison, agree on what the words mean. In Saudi quoting practice, the same phrase is used for two different scopes often enough that the misunderstanding is predictable. These eight are the ones that move money.

    Equipment price

    The factory price for the lift and its published accessories, before freight, before duty, before anyone touches the building. Our own product pages publish this per set: hydraulic home models at USD 4,000–10,000, the 200 kg platform lift and geared traction model at USD 10,000–20,000, the screw-driven range at USD 20,000–30,000. This number is a start point, not a budget.

    EXW / FOB

    EXW means the price stops at the factory gate — you arrange collection, export paperwork and freight. FOB means the price includes getting the goods onto the vessel at the port of loading. The gap between the two is inland haulage and terminal handling at origin, and it is small next to what comes after it.

    CIF

    Cost, insurance and freight: the supplier's price carries the lift to a named destination port. CIF stops at the port. It does not include customs clearance, duty, the certificate of conformity, inland transport to the villa, or a crane.

    Landed cost

    The cost of the lift once it has cleared customs and is sitting at your site, ready for installation. It is the first number that can honestly be compared with a local supply-and-install quotation, and it is the number most export quotations never print.

    Delivered to site

    The lift has arrived where it will be built — not at the port, not at a warehouse in another city, and not at the bottom of a stairwell with no lifting plan. Freight to the port of Jeddah or Dammam and transport to a Riyadh villa are different problems with different equipment.

    Delivery to running

    Also written "delivery in running condition" or "works complete". The lift has been installed, tested, adjusted and demonstrated, and the owner can ride it. If a quotation says "installation included" without this phrase, the line between installed and running is still open.

    Provisional sum

    A place-holder for work that cannot be priced yet — usually civil work, power supply or lifting. A provisional sum is not a price; it is an admission that the number will move. Ask for the range, not the figure.

    Variation order

    The document that converts an omission into an invoice. Every one of the five omissions in section 08 arrives as one of these, and each carries its own margin, its own lead time and its own argument about who caused the delay.

    Two practical tests follow from the table. First, ask each supplier to state, in writing, at which of those eight points their price stops. Second, ask what the next point costs — even as a range. A supplier who answers both is telling you the shape of the job; a supplier who answers only the first is telling you the shape of the invoice.

    What "delivery time" means in a quotation

    Our published lead times are 20–45 working days depending on the model and the order, with the shortest published figure on the 200 kg platform lift and the longest on the screw-driven range. Every one of those figures is a production figure: it starts when the deposit and the confirmed drawing exist, not when the enquiry arrives.

    A Saudi quotation that prints a lead time without naming the start event has left the biggest variable in the programme undefined — and in a villa programme the lift sits on the critical path behind the shaft and the power supply.

    Certifications are a quotation line, not a footnote

    Certificates belong in the line list, because they decide whether the goods clear customs and whether the installer can hand over. Where our product pages list certificates, we state them: ISO 9001 on the screw-driven range; ISO 9001 with ISO 14001 and UDEM on the platform lift, the three-passenger compact model and the glass-cabin model; CE with ISO on the geared traction model; ASME A18.1 with CSA B44.1 and ETL listing on the 200 kg platform lift.

    Imported goods entering Saudi Arabia also pass through the Kingdom's conformity route, which buyers generally meet through the SABER platform with a product certificate and a shipment certificate. Whether a particular lift falls inside the regulated scope is a question for your importer, not something a supplier should be assumed to hold — so put it on the quotation as a named responsibility.

    03 · Currency and the rate: what the SAR figure is sitting on

    A Saudi quotation can be written in riyals while the lift is bought in dollars, and that single fact creates a risk with nothing to do with the machine. The riyal has traded at a fixed peg of SAR 3.75 to the US dollar for years — the rate checked for this article on 26 September 2026 was exactly 3.75, or about SAR 0.2667 to the dollar — so the conversion itself is stable.

    What is not stable is the date the conversion is applied, and which side carries the difference when the quotation was written weeks before the order.

    Three clauses decide it. The rate date: is the SAR figure converted at the rate on the day of the quotation, the day of the order, or the day of the deposit? The rate source: which published rate is the reference, and is the clause written so that either side can point at a number neither controls? The currency of the invoice: a supplier may quote in riyals and invoice in dollars, or the reverse, and the two are not interchangeable once a payment is late.

    SAR 40,000 · compact home lift, entry of the published Saudi range≈ USD 10,667
    Published by Aqar (Saudi Arabia, May 2025) as the starting point for compact models; "can go beyond SAR 80,000" for the upper end.
    SAR 60,000–90,000 · home lift, 300–450 kg, 2–4 stops≈ USD 16,000–24,000
    Star Elevator's published Saudi estimate for a home lift in that capacity and stop range; a residential lift of 400–630 kg over 3–6 stops is published at SAR 75,000–120,000.
    Our published equipment band · hydraulic home modelsUSD 4,000–10,000 per set
    Per set, minimum order one set, export packing included as published. The gap between this row and the two above is the layer the rest of this article is about.
    Our published equipment band · screw-driven rangeUSD 20,000–30,000 per set
    Per set, 500–5000 kg on the large model, 1–2 person on the compact model, ISO 9001 published, 45-day published lead time.

    The length of the bars is the point of the section. The two published Saudi installed figures and the two published equipment figures are not competing prices; they are measurements taken at different places on the same road. A buyer who compares them directly will conclude that imported equipment is cheap and that local installation is expensive, and will then be surprised by the first invoice for freight, clearance and a crane.

    The clause worth adding to every Saudi quotation

    "State the currency of the invoice, the exchange rate applied and the date the rate is taken. State separately whether customs duty, clearance charges, the certificate of conformity and VAT are included, excluded, or paid by the buyer."

    VAT applies in Saudi Arabia at the standard rate published by the Zakat, Tax and Customs Authority — 15% at the time of writing — and it is charged on the supply, not on the equipment alone. Whether it appears as a separate line or is buried inside a lump sum changes both the comparison and the cash-flow plan.

    04 · The eleven lines your quotation should itemise

    A comparable Saudi quotation has eleven lines. Not because eleven is a standard — it is not — but because each one is a place where a real cost either appears or hides. Ask two suppliers for these eleven lines and the comparison takes ten minutes instead of three meetings. Tick the boxes below against the quotation in front of you; the count updates as you go.

    0 of 11 lines present

    Two habits make this list work. The first is to demand the eleven lines in the same order from every supplier, so the missing ones are visible as gaps rather than inferred from a total. The second is to write "not stated" rather than "no" when a line is absent. A supplier who has not stated a scope has not promised to exclude it — and if the omission later becomes a variation order, that distinction is the whole conversation.

    Why eleven and not five

    Five would cover the equipment, the freight, the civil work, the installation and the service. Eleven exists because, in practice, five of the eleven are the ones that get compressed into "installation" — clearance, conformity, lifting, power and commissioning — and each of those has a different owner, a different currency and a different lead time. A single line called "installation" cannot be argued with line by line when it moves.

    05 · Five costs a Saudi villa adds that equipment quotations leave out

    Equipment follows a quotation. Site work follows a building. The five items below are the ones our own buyers most often discover between signing and start on site in the Kingdom, and none of them appear in a factory price.

    1

    The shaft, and what is already inside the wall

    Hydraulic models we publish need 0 m of pit and 3 m of overhead clearance; the compact screw-driven model is published with a shallow pit. Those are machine requirements, not construction solutions. Whether the villa's existing stair void, service shaft or wardrobe can be converted, and what happens to the reinforced concrete that has to be cut, is a civil scope that no equipment quotation contains.

    2

    The electrical supply as the building actually has it

    The published supply figures differ by family: single-phase 220 V 50 Hz on the pitless hydraulic home models, 110 V 15 A 60 Hz on the 200 kg platform lift, three-phase on the industrial hydraulic cargo lift. A villa that has to add a three-phase connection, a dedicated circuit or a panel change has bought a project, not a lift, and the cost sits with the electrical contractor.

    3

    Getting the lift into the house

    A villa in a narrow street has a different set of answers from a plot with clear access. Offloading a crate, holding it on the ground floor while the shaft is finished, protecting marble floors, and lifting the cabin into the shaft are all site decisions — and the crane or the manual staging plan has to be priced before it is needed, not after the truck is parked outside.

    4

    Clearance time, conformity documents and demurrage

    Importing into Saudi Arabia takes documents as well as money: the conformity route used for regulated goods is normally met through the SABER platform, with a product certificate and a shipment certificate. If a document has to be issued or corrected after the ship sails, the container sits in port, and storage and demurrage start. That is the single most predictable avoidable cost in an imported-lift project.

    5

    Supervision across a time zone and a language

    Installing a home lift is more than labour. It is alignment, adjustment, testing and demonstration, and it often needs the supplier's engineer on a call at the moment of commissioning. Whether that support is included, whether it is remote or on site, and whether a spare parts list with prices travels with the machine are terms to settle in the quotation rather than in the week the lift has to run.

    None of the five is a hidden trick. Each is simply outside the boundary of an equipment price, and each becomes visible the moment the quotation is written on eleven lines. The practical consequence is that a buyer comparing an export price with a local turnkey price is not comparing two prices — they are comparing two scopes, one of which has four of these five items still unpriced.

    06 · Putting three quotations on one sheet

    The comparison table below is the working version of the eleven lines. It is not filled in with prices, because prices belong to your project; it is filled in with responsibility, because responsibility is what decides whether two numbers are comparable. Copy it, put one column per supplier, and write what each document actually says.

    Responsibility matrix for three Saudi quotations. "Stated" means the document names the scope and the party; a blank cell is the finding.
    LineSupplier ASupplier BSupplier C
    1 · Equipment, by modelModel and capacity statedModel stated, capacity blank"Residential lift" only
    2 · Packing and export documentsExport wood box includedStatedNot stated
    3 · Freight, both ports namedCIF JeddahFreight figure, no portNot stated
    4 · Marine cargo insuranceIncluded, buyer namedNot statedNot stated
    5 · Customs, duty, demurrageBuyerBuyerNot stated
    6 · Conformity documentsBuyer's importerNot statedNot stated
    7 · Transport to site and liftingExcluded, priced as an optionNot statedIncluded, lump sum
    8 · Civil and shaft worksExcludedProvisional sumIncluded, lump sum
    9 · Power supply worksBuyer's electrical contractorBuyerIncluded
    10 · Installation, testing, commissioningLocal partner, namedSupplier's engineerNot stated
    11 · Handover pack, warranty, serviceWarranty stated, start event statedWarranty stated, start event blankNot stated

    Read the table by column, not by row. Supplier A has named every exclusion and priced two of them as options; Supplier C has claimed a wider scope with four "not stated" cells. If A's total is higher, the difference is knowledge, not margin — and it is knowledge the buyer would otherwise buy twice.

    The second reading is diagonally: which lines does nobody name? When two or three suppliers all leave the same line blank, that line is not a supplier problem, it is a project problem, and it usually means the drawings are not ready. Power supply and shaft works are the two lines that most often reveal an unfinished design, and finding that out before the order is cheaper than after the shaft is poured.

    What to do with the total

    Once the matrix is filled in, the totals are no longer directly comparable and do not need to be. Add the named exclusions to each column, using the supplier's own option price where one exists and a second quotation where it does not. What remains is three numbers that measure the same job — the only form in which a Saudi comparison is meaningful.

    07 · What the equipment band tells you before the site does

    Equipment prices are still useful in a quotation review, because they bound the day-one estimate. The two columns below are the same lift seen twice: once as published equipment, once as the installed scope a Saudi buyer eventually signs.

    Published equipment scope

    What our product pages put in writing for the hydraulic home models: 0 m pit, 3 m overhead clearance, travel up to 14.5 m, five stops on the pitless model, 220 V 50 Hz single phase, 4.7 kW motor, automatic doors, microprocessor control and an emergency stop. Price band USD 4,000–10,000 per set, minimum order one set, export non-fumigation wood box, 20–45 working days published lead time.

    Comparable published anchors elsewhere in the range: the 200 kg platform lift at 110 V 15 A 60 Hz and up to 12 ft of travel; the screw-driven range at 500–5000 kg, 0.15 m/s and up to 15 m; the geared traction model at 500–1000 kg and 0.6–1 m/s, up to 50 ft.

    Installed scope in the Kingdom

    What the published Saudi market bands describe: home lifts from SAR 40,000 for compact models and beyond SAR 80,000 (Aqar, May 2025); a home lift of 300–450 kg over two to four stops at SAR 60,000–90,000, and a residential lift of 400–630 kg over three to six stops at SAR 75,000–120,000 (Star Elevator, published Saudi price page).

    Both are installed figures, and both are stated as ranges rather than as prices for a specification. Neither lists what is excluded — which is precisely why the eleven lines exist.

    The distance between the two columns is the subject of the whole article. It is not a margin and it is not a trick; it is the cost of moving a machine from a factory into a finished villa and making it run, in a country where the import documentation, the site work and the installation labour are all somebody's line item.

    Use the equipment band for one decision only

    Use it to sanity-check whether the installed number you have been given is in the right order of magnitude for the machine being described. A quotation for a 400 kg hydraulic villa lift that lands near the top of the residential band with nothing but "installation" behind it deserves the eleven-line treatment; one that lands near the bottom almost always has an unpriced layer inside the five items in section 05.

    08 · Five omissions that come back as change orders

    An omission is not the same as an exclusion. An exclusion is written down and priced, and it is honest. An omission is a scope the buyer believes is included because the quotation never mentioned it. There are five of these in the Saudi residential-lift market, and every one of them reappears later as a variation order with its own margin.

    Omission 1 · "Installation included" without a scope

    The phrase usually means the mechanical assembly of the lift. It rarely means the shaft, the landing openings, the power run, the lifting plan, the load test or the demonstration. Ask for the sentence to be completed: installed by whom, to what point, and tested by whom.

    Omission 2 · The concrete, and who is allowed to cut it

    Whether a villa shaft can be converted, and whether the reinforcement allows an opening, is a structural question. A supplier who has not seen the drawing cannot answer it, and a civil contractor who has not been asked has not priced it. Both gaps are normal; the mistake is discovering them after the order.

    Omission 3 · The electrical supply, mistaken for a plug

    Published supply values differ by model — single-phase 220 V 50 Hz on the pitless hydraulic home models, 110 V 15 A 60 Hz on the 200 kg platform lift, three-phase on the industrial hydraulic cargo lift. If the required supply is not in the villa, the difference is not a socket; it is a connection, a panel and an inspection.

    Omission 4 · The documents required to import at all

    Goods entering Saudi Arabia may need conformity documentation through the SABER platform — a product certificate and a shipment certificate — and the responsibility is frequently assumed by both sides without being written by either. Add it to the quotation as a named owner with a stated cost.

    Omission 5 · The week after handover

    Warranty period, the event it starts from, response terms, the spare parts list, and who pays for the first service visit. A lift with a one-year published warranty and no named service arrangement is a machine with an unclear second year — and that is exactly the question a local installer or a future buyer will ask.

    All five share the same signature: they are lines a supplier cannot price without information, so they are left out rather than guessed. That is a reasonable behaviour and a bad document. The fix is not to distrust the supplier; it is to make the missing information a condition of the quotation, in writing, before the order.

    How to test whether a quotation has omissions

    Read it once looking only for sentences that describe a boundary: "included", "excluded", "by others", "not required", "to be confirmed". Then read it again looking for the eleven lines. Every line that has neither a boundary sentence nor a price is an omission until it is answered — and the answer usually takes two lines of email rather than a re-quotation.

    09 · Payment, lead time and warranty: reading the terms behind the number

    Three terms decide what a lift really costs to own: when money moves, when the clock starts, and what happens when something fails. All three are published for our own range and can be used as a benchmark for what a completed quotation should state.

    Signal 01 · Payment terms

    The instrument, not just the percentage

    Our product pages publish T/T or L/C, and the difference matters more than the split. A letter of credit protects both sides but costs bank charges and time; a telegraphic transfer is faster but shifts the risk. Whatever a Saudi quotation proposes, ask which instrument it assumes, and who pays the bank charges on each side.

    Signal 02 · The start of the lead time

    Working days from a defined event

    Our published lead times run 20–45 working days depending on model and order size, and they are production figures: they start when the deposit and the confirmed drawing exist. A quotation that prints "45 days" without naming that event has left the programme open, and the lift sits on the villa's critical path behind the shaft and the power supply.

    Signal 03 · Warranty, and its start date

    Period plus the event it counts from

    Published warranties in our range are one year on the hydraulic and traction models and two years on parts with one year on labour for the 200 kg platform lift. A warranty that starts at shipment expires partly before installation; one that starts at handover covers what the owner actually experiences. Require the start event to be written.

    Two further commercial terms are worth extracting from any Saudi quotation, because they change the landed cost without changing the equipment. The first is the minimum order quantity — ours is published as one set, which matters if you are a dealer assembling a first order. The second is the supply capability: our screw-driven range publishes five sets per month and the hydraulic models twenty sets per month, so a multi-unit villa project has a schedule question as well as a price question.

    One line that decides cash flow

    Ask when the balance is due: on shipment, on arrival at the port, on clearance, or on handover. Four answers, four different cash-flow profiles, one identical total. The payment schedule belongs next to the price, not in an appendix.

    10 · Score the quotation: eleven completeness checks

    The list below is the same eleven lines, rewritten as questions about the document rather than the lift. Tick what your quotation actually states. The score is not about whether the price is good; it is about whether you know what you are buying.

    Completeness · tick every item the quotation states in writing

    A document that scores eleven is not automatically the right quotation, and a document that scores six is not automatically wrong — it may simply be an equipment quotation that has not yet been extended into a project. What the score does is remove the ambiguity: you can see which supplier is quoting the job you are actually running, and which is quoting half of it.

    11 · Three questions: which quotation are you holding?

    The three questions below identify the shape of the document rather than the quality of the lift, and each answer changes what has to be checked next. Nothing is stored or sent; the answers stay in the page.

    Three questions · the shape of the quotation
    Answer the three questions to see what your document is actually covering, and what to check next.
    1 · Who installs the lift?
    2 · What does the price cover?
    3 · Who clears customs and holds the conformity documents?
    Answer the three questions to see a starting point
    The tool has no answer until all three inputs are set. It describes the shape of the document, not the value of the lift.
    Which lines to check first appear here once all three answers are set.
    What the three questions separate

    Two very different situations can look identical on a price line. An equipment-only quotation at a low number is complete for its scope, and the buyer's job is to price the site. A turnkey quotation at a higher number is complete for a different scope, and the buyer's job is to test whether the civil scope inside it is real. Neither is a worse document; comparing them without this step is simply an error.

    12 · When a low number is the honest one

    Low prices are not a defect. Some genuinely low numbers are the most honest documents in the pile, and recognising them protects a buyer from over-correcting in the other direction.

    A low number is reasonable when…

    • The scope is genuinely narrower and it says so: equipment and freight only, with the site work written as excluded.
    • The machine is the smaller, slower, simpler one — for example a 200 kg platform lift published at 110 V with a 12 ft travel, or a hydraulic home model at the lower end of its own band.
    • The villa already has the shaft, the power and the access, so the excluded lines are real zeros rather than unpriced work.
    • The buyer is the importer of record and knows it: clearance, conformity and inland transport are already inside another contract.
    • The price is quoted in the currency the buyer pays in, with the rate date named, so no hidden conversion sits behind it.

    A low number is a warning when…

    • The scope description is broader than the price: "supply and installation" at an equipment-level figure.
    • Four or more of the eleven lines are simply absent, so the exclusions have never been priced.
    • The capacity, stops or travel are unstated, which means the machine being priced has not been defined.
    • The warranty start date and the service arrangement are missing, moving cost into the second year without saying so.
    • The total appears without a delivery point, a currency clause or a lead-time trigger — three unknowns in one line.

    The two columns are not opposites; they are the same column read with different information. A low number plus a stated narrow scope is a clean offer. A low number plus a broad scope description is a document that has not been finished — and the finishing work will be done at whatever price is negotiable when the lift is already at the port.

    13 · Questions buyers ask about residential lift cost in Saudi Arabia

    The eight questions below are the ones that come back most often once a quotation is on the table. They are answered with published figures and with the boundaries those figures have.

    How much does a home elevator lift cost in Saudi Arabia?

    Two published Saudi references frame it. Aqar, a Saudi real-estate platform, reports that home elevators in the Kingdom typically start at SAR 40,000 for compact models and can go beyond SAR 80,000, listing capacity, number of floors, advanced features and maintenance fees as the cost factors. Star Elevator publishes a narrower estimate: SAR 60,000–90,000 for a home lift of 300–450 kg over two to four stops, and SAR 75,000–120,000 for a residential lift of 400–630 kg over three to six stops.

    Those are installed-market ranges. Our own published equipment bands — per set, minimum order one set — are USD 4,000–10,000 for the hydraulic home models, USD 10,000–20,000 for the 200 kg platform lift and the geared traction model, and USD 20,000–30,000 for the screw-driven range. At SAR 3.75 to the dollar, the published Saudi home-lift band of SAR 60,000–90,000 is roughly USD 16,000–24,000. The distance between the two sets of figures is the freight, clearance, civil, power, lifting and installation layers described in this article.

    Why is the equipment price so much lower than the installed price?

    Because they are measurements taken at different points. The equipment figure is taken at the factory: the lift, the published accessories and the export packing. The installed figure is taken inside a finished building: the same lift plus freight, marine insurance, customs clearance, duty, conformity documents, inland transport, offloading, lifting into the shaft, civil work, the electrical connection, installation labour, testing, commissioning, demonstration and the service arrangement in the second year.

    Neither number is wrong. Comparing them directly is the error — and it is the error the eleven-line matrix in section 06 exists to prevent.

    Is my quotation in riyals or in dollars, and does the rate matter?

    The riyal has traded at a fixed peg of SAR 3.75 to the US dollar for years; the rate checked for this article on 26 September 2026 was exactly 3.75. So the conversion itself is not volatile. What varies is which side carries the difference when a quotation written weeks before the order is paid at a different moment, and whether the invoice is issued in the currency the quotation used. Ask for the currency of the invoice, the rate applied and the date the rate is taken, in writing.

    Does the quotation include VAT and customs duty?

    Usually it says nothing, which is why both belong on the eleven lines. VAT applies in Saudi Arabia at the standard rate published by the Zakat, Tax and Customs Authority — 15% at the time of writing — and it is charged on the supply. Import duty and clearance charges depend on the classification and the terms of the sale. The quotation should state, for each of the three, whether it is included, excluded or payable by the buyer.

    What lead time should I expect for a home lift?

    Our published production lead times run 20–45 working days depending on the model and the order, starting from the deposit and the confirmed drawing — not from the enquiry. To that must be added ocean freight, clearance and the site programme. In a villa, the lift is usually on the critical path behind the shaft and the power supply, so the lead-time trigger matters more than the number of days.

    Do I need SABER documents to import a home lift into Saudi Arabia?

    Saudi Arabia operates a conformity scheme for goods entering the Kingdom, generally met through the SABER platform with a product certificate and a shipment certificate. Whether a particular lift falls within the regulated scope, and which route applies, is a question for your importer or the certification body — not something to assume from a supplier's certificate list. Our product pages state the certificates each model publishes; the import route is a separate, project-specific step, and it should have a named owner on the quotation.

    What should I check before paying a deposit?

    Four things. The model and its published specification, so that the machine is defined. The delivery point, so that freight and clearance are not open. The lead-time trigger, so that the programme has a start. And the list of what is excluded, so that the site work has an owner. A quotation that answers all four can be signed with confidence; one that answers two is not yet finished.

    Can I compare a CIF price with a local turnkey price?

    Not directly — and not because one is better. A CIF price stops at the destination port, so it excludes clearance, duty, conformity, inland transport, civil work, power and installation. A local turnkey price includes them in some form. To compare them, put both on the eleven lines, price the exclusions in the CIF column using the supplier's own options where they exist, and compare the two totals only after the same scope is on both sides.

    14 · Before you sign: four lines and a decision

    The whole article reduces to four statements that should be able to be written into any Saudi residential-lift order. If they cannot be written, the missing one is the risk.

    0 of 4 statements in the order

    None of those four lines requires a bigger budget. Each requires that the information exist before the price is fixed — and that is the only genuine difference between the quotation that is cheap and the quotation that stays cheap.

    Send the quotation, not the budget

    Send us the quotation you have been given — or the villa layout, the travel, the load and the supply you have — and we will map it against the eleven lines: what is defined, what is missing, and what the missing lines usually cost. Our published equipment bands start at USD 4,000–10,000 per set for the hydraulic home models, with a minimum order of one set.

    Send your quotation

    For the equipment-side context behind these numbers, the published price bands and the layers that sit on top of them are set out in home elevator costs: key trends and pricing; the fit-and-feasibility questions for a Saudi villa are in the Saudi home lift guide; the drive comparison is in hydraulic vs traction; and the published specifications referenced throughout this article are on the product pages for the single-phase pitless hydraulic model, the five-stop pitless hydraulic model, the villa hydraulic lift, the 200 kg platform lift and the compact screw-driven model.

    Holding two or three Saudi quotations? Send them over — we map each one against the eleven lines. Send the quotation

    latest company news

    Mail Us

    VR Show
    VR Show WhatsApp